ARC REVIEW: love, hate & other filters, by samira ahmed

love, hate and other filters (1)

i was sent an Advance Review Copy of this book in exchange of an honest review. this doesn’t affect my opinion in any way.

trigger warning: bullying, islamophobia

31207017Love, Hate & Other Filters, by Samira Ahmed
Expected Publication by: Soho Teen (January 16th, 2018)
Genre: YA Contemporary, Social Issues, Islamophobia
Goodreads // Amazon // Book Depository

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter (i.e.; staying nearby in Chicago and being matched with a “suitable” Muslim boy), and the one where she goes to film school in New York City–and maybe, just maybe, kisses a guy she’s only known from afar. There’s the also the fun stuff, like laughing with her best friend Violet, making on-the-spot documentaries, sneaking away for private swimming lessons at a secret pond in the woods. But her world is shattered when a suicide bomber strikes in the American heartland; by chance, he shares Maya’s last name. What happens to the one Muslim family in town when their community is suddenly consumed with hatred and fear?

this is one of the most important books i have ever read. i can’t even begin to describe how much i loved it. not only it was real, it was also fun and captivating. and it now holds an important place in my heart.

LOVE, HATE, AND OTHER FILTERS is about sixteen-years old Maya, whose only wish is to achieve her dreams and kiss a boy, but a terrorist attack comes in the way, and the suspect  shares her last name. Maya is faced to islamophobia and bullying, which may be in the way of accomplishing her dreams. 

as a muslim teenager, even though i do not live in an non-mulsim country, i could relate to the events, the insults, maya’s feelings, her parents… these are things that happen every single day. marginalized people are being harrassed, on the internet and in real life. and seeing these things FINALLY talked about, i feel hopeful. samira ahmed knew how to deliver a powerful story of love and hate and other filters of life (pun intended, the title is very wisely chosen). 

throughout the book i felt like i was watching a movie, and that the person in charge of the camera was very very talented, just like maya, who has a really strong personality (and who ALMOST shares my name). she knows what she wants, and even though she’s not a 100% sure of what she’s doing, she never stops to dream. i love her. the other characters also had a powerful impact on me, especially violet, maya’s best friend.

to conclude, this book was…beautiful, empowering, enlightening, amazing, hopeful. i couldn’t ask for more in a novel, and i can’t wait for everyone to read it.

are you excited for LOVE, HATE AND OTHER FILTERS?


14 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: love, hate & other filters, by samira ahmed

  1. I’ve seen the cover pop up on my timeline so many times now that I checked out what it was about and I would DEFINITELY be interested in reading it 🙂 I am kind of on a reading hiatus for now though, so it will take quite a bit. Thanks for this great review, though! Makes me anticipate the book even more.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This book sounds amazing . I will definitely read it because I want to see maya’s perspective as a muslim living in a non muslim country . It seems very very interresting to me . Also I liked your review.
    (Last thing when I can find this book in morroco)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s