bookish

my most anticipated diverse reads of 2017: the sequel

diverse-2017-reads-pt-2

did you really think seven books were enough?

after that last post of mine, where i share seven of my most anticipated reads of 2017, i regretted posting it. i discovered so many other amazing novels coming out next year. that’s why i decided to post a sequel.

so here are my most anticipated reads of 2017, pt.2:

history is all you left me, by adam silvera25014114

i haven’t read silvera’s previous novel, MORE HAPPY THAN NOT, but i certainly want to. i heard so many good things about his books, and i can’t wait to dive into them. i really hope i’ll like them. + HISTORY IS ALL YOU LEFT ME feature a main character with OCD, which i’ve actually never read about, so THIS can be a good start.

expected release date: january 17th, 2017

22082082our own private universe, by robin talley

i feel like this book will mostly be about growing up and learning, and that’s freaking amazing. i hope it will make me THINK, really.

expected release date: january 31st, 2017

30269126empress of a thousand skies, by rhoda belleza

we still don’t know WHAT exactly is the diversity factor in this novel, but it SURE features diversity. AND it has some LUNAR CHRONICLES vibes, so i’m definitely in.

expected release date: february 7th, 2017

30649795goodbye days, by jeff zentner

again, i haven’t read this author’s previous novel, but i definitely want to. this novel deals with anxiety and panic attacks. and, as someone who had dealt with anxiety before, i WILL read this book.

expected release date: march 7th, 2017

23447923the inexplicable logic of my life, by benjamin alire sàenz

this book looks SO good. not only the plot is appealing, but most of its characters are mexican-american (except white protagonist). (and no, i have not read ARISTOTLE AND DANTE DISCOVER THE SECRETS OF THE UNIVERSE, but i will, i promise).

expected release date: march 7th, 2017

29346880the gauntlet, by karuna riazi

this book features MOSTLY MUSLIM CAST, INCLUDING HIJABI GIRLS. and as a muslim, i’m down for that. i will NOT let this book out of my reach. i will buy it and i will read it.

expected release date: march 28th, 2017

30653843radio silence, by alice oseman

THIS BOOK. it’s one of my most anticipated reads out of my most anticipated reads of 2017. (does that make sense?) amazing looking plot AND diverse characters?! i’m in.

expected release date: march 28th, 2017

30312860always and forever, lara jean, by jenny han

i actually forgot to include this one in my first post of my anticipated reads of 2017, and i’m still asking myself why. i still have to read P.S. I STILL LOVE YOU, but i read the first book in the series (TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE), and it was really good. so i’m excited.

expected release date: may 2nd, 2017

23308087flame in the mist, by renée ahdieh

i still haven’t read THE WRATH AND THE DAWN duology, but after giving us two books with ARABIC VIBES, ahdieh comes with a JAPANESE SETTING for her next book? i’ve never been more excited to read her novels after this book was announced. + FLAME IN THE MIST is a mulan retelling? i’m not sure? but it looks like it’s inspired by that story.

expected release date: may 16th, 2017

31145133 i believe in a thing called love, by mauren goo

this looks like a chick-lit kind of story. it also throws some TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE vibes (i mean, for me). and because i liked TATBILB, i’m 70% sure i’ll like this one too. it just looks so cute! (+ it features an asian main character.)

expected release date: may 30th, 2017

mirage, by somaiya daud

look, i HAVE read books with arabic setting/characters, but i have NEVER found a YA book about my own country, so when my friend showed me this MOROCCAN-INSPIRED FANTASY? and it’s own voices? i fangirled so hard. i was just so happy.

(cover yet to be revealed.)

expected release date: november 6th, 2017


did i miss some other diverse reads of 2017 you’re excited for? what are some of YOUR anticipated reads of this year?

13 thoughts on “my most anticipated diverse reads of 2017: the sequel

  1. Adam Silvera and Benjamin Saenz are fantastic authors; I definitely recommend their books! I haven’t read Jeff Zentner yet either (but, apparently I should). Super excited for a Radio Silence though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so excited for The Inexplicable Logic of My Life! I loved Ari & Dante and the author’s writing style is absolutely beautiful. You need to read it! I’m sure you’ll love it!
    I am also excited for the concluding novel to Lara Jean Trilogy (I’m not even sure of its name, to be honest). Those books were absolutely adorable and I could relate a lot to Lara Jean as a character. I hope this one is just as good as the previous books!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yes!!! i included ALWAYS AND FOREVER, LARA JEAN in another post as one of my most anticipated reads of 2017, and i hope i’ll like it too!
      AND yes i’ll get into ARISTOTLE AND DANTE DISCOVER THE SECRETS OF THE UNIVERSE soon!! i just… so many books so little time!!

      Like

  3. AHH SO MANY AMAZING BOOKS THIS YEAR! I haven’t read any Adam Silvera’s book, but I’m also excited for History is All You Left Me. And obviously, The Flame in the Mist! Renee Ahdieh has become one of my favorite authors after the Wrath and the Dawn. I can’t believe I didn’t know about I Believe in the Thing Called Love! And you’re right, since it has that ~Lara Jean~ vibes, I’m sure I’m going to like it ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. History is All You Left Me and Flame in the Mist sound absolutely fantastic! They’re definitely two of my most anticipated reads as well. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

