bookish · tags, features, memes, etc.

the best books of 2016 (aka the never-ending list)

fave-books-of-2016

top ten tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the people at the broke and the bookish where people share lists in a certain topic.

it’s the end of the year! which means it’s time to share my favorite books! generally speaking, this year has been a really good one when it comes to reading. so it was kind of hard to narrow this list to ten books (actually, i didn’t).

to make it more fun, i decided to list these books under themes (?). every book on this list fits a song i’ve been listening to this year, so the subtitles of this post will be like this: [song name]:[theme]. at the end of the post, i’ll list all the infos about the songs, because obviously they’re amazing and you should listen to them.


brand new day: a series you started this year (and loved)

i’m 99% sure you already knew this was coming. of course i was going to mention PERCY JACKSON AND THE OLYMPIANS in here. i had been wanting to read this series FOREVER. and when i finally got around it, i fell in love. i’m just…addicted to it. if you still haven’t read these books, GO DO IT. i’ve been a loss for fifteen years of my life, and not reading it until now was the biggest mistake i’ve ever made.

still into you: a book you still haven’t got over

cp-1is this even a question? CLOCKWORK PRINCESS, by cassandra clare. i still can’t believe i read around Â¾ of this book in one sitting, on mid-term finals week (which is actually in january where i live). so many people say it, and i completely agree: THE INFERNAL DEVICES SERIES IS JUST SO AMAZING. for me, it’s much better than THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS series. *sigh*.

wild: a book that has driven you wild

socthe dregs have driven me wild: SIX OF CROWS by leigh bardugo. i still have to read the sequel, CROOKED KINGDOM, but the first book is so so so so good. i’m in love with everything about it. kaz brekker and everyone in this book (but especially kaz brekker) is so cool i just wanted to be with them (even though i’ll certainly get killed).

death of a bachelor: a book that was the death of you (because FEELS)

obviously all the books in this list gave me feels, and WINTER by marissa meyer was definitely one of them. it was one of the best finales EVER. it did take me one month to finish but STILL. it was so good. when i was reading it,  i was constantly slowing myself down because i didn’t want the series to end.

25486998something about the sunshine: a book that made you happy

P.S. I LIKE YOU, by kasie west. this book was so fluffy and so good. it’s not for everyone, but it definitely was for me. i just wanted to squish the characters so hard. if you’re looking for some fluffy reads next summer, definitely check this book out. i’m really hoping i’ll read more of the author’s books next year.

lies: a mind-blowing book

i feel like nobody really talk about this book, and it’s really sad, because it’s so amazing. it was definitely NOT what i was expecting, and so much better than that. A FIERCE AND SUBTLE POISON by samantha mabry definitely blew my mind. not only for its amazing and so original plot, but also for its diversity. this novel is set in the puerto rico, and features spanish characters. (i’m not spanish though, so i  don’t know if this book features good or bad representation.)

tue-2bright lights: a book that made you learn something new

with this author’s books, i always learn something new, so i had to feature one of them: THE UNEXPECTED EVERYTHING, by morgan matson. not only this book was so cute and relatable, its message was also one i used later in life. as usual, i highly recommend morgan matson’s two books that i read: this one and SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE (which, i can guarantee, includes amazing plot line and wonderful playlists).

trccrush: a book you can’t help crushing on

can we talk about THE RAVEN CYCLE? about Richard Gansey III? aka the love of my life? because i’m crushing so hard. i still have to read the final book, but this series is just…love love love. i just don’t want to finish it you know? just like with WINTER, it’ll get make me sad to say goodbye…

new perspective: a book that changed your way of seeing things

if you read my last review, this one is pretty obvious for you: KISSING IN AMERICA, by margo rabb. this is the kind of book that EVERYONE should read.
it just breaks ALL the stereotypes about falling in love, it was just so wonderful. this story stands beyond romantic love to face something even more magical. (i forgot to mention this in my review, but the main character in this book is jewish. so if you’re looking for diverse reads…just saying.)

21979832how far i’ll go: a book you travelled with

or time-travelled with: THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE, by heidi heilig. i was lucky to read an early copy of this book and it was so amazing. it is about ships and time-travel + it features biracial characters and i just…i really liked it. i’m so excited for the sequel, THE SHIP BEYOND TIME. i reaaaaaally have high expectations for it.


there are so many other books i loved reading this year. and because they deserve to be in this post too, here is another list of some other favorite books of the year (this doesn’t mean i liked them less than the detailed list. i love all my children the same):

  1. THE LOST HERO + THE SON OF NEPTUNE, by rick riordan: the adventure continues. this spin-off series of the glorious PERCY JACKSON AND THE OLYMPIANS series will be the death of me. i can feel it. it’s definitely different from pjo though, more detailed and featuring more ~diverse~ characters. even though the end of each one of his books makes me want to punch the author in the face (cliffhangers are a CRIME), rick riordan never fails to impress the hell out of me. i’m excited to read the rest of the books and see where the story goes.
  2. STARS ABOVE, by marissa meyer: feels have hit me harder than i expected in this one, because even though WINTER is the official last book in the lunar chronicles series, this book meant, like, the REAL end. it was a big sacrifice to read it. I’LL MISS THE CHARACTERS SO MUCH *CRIES*.
  3. SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA, by becky albertalli: i mean, come on! this book is the epitome of cuteness and oreos. i know i’m not the only one who have said it (i’m probably the 1000+th one), but i highly recommend you to read it.
  4. HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD, by john tiffany + jack thorne + j.k. rowling: i mean, more harry potter? it’s a obvious fact that i’ll love it.
  5. SALT TO THE SEA, by ruta sepetys: this book means FEELS. it was my first world war II themed novel, and oh my. it may looked a bit like titanic at first glance, but still. this book is genius.
  6. ME BEFORE YOU, by jojo moyes: *breathes heavily* *fights the tears* *dies*.

wow. that was a long post. i really appreciate it if you made it here. so, what were some of your favorite books of 2016? any recommendations on what i should read next year?

songs used for the post:

  • BRAND NEW DAY – by demi lovato, on camp rock 2: the final battle.
  • STILL INTO YOU – by paramore.
  • WILD – by troye sivan + alessia cara (aka my babies).
  • DEATH OF A BACHELOR – by panic! at the disco (aka THE BEST MUSIC GROUP EVER).
  • SOMETING ABOUT THE SUNSHINE – by sterling knight + anna margaret, on disney channel’s most underrated movie, starstuck.
  • LIES – by marina and the diamonds (really, go listen to MATD).
  • BRIGHT LIGHTS – by 30 seconds to mars.
  • CRUSH – by david archuelta (aka the song i never get tired of).
  • NEW PERSPECTIVE – by panic! at the disco.
  • HOW FAR I’LL GO – by alessia cara, on moana.
17 thoughts on “the best books of 2016 (aka the never-ending list)

  1. I loveeeee Percy Jackson. I really need to finish the series. I think I’ve only read books 1-3 so far. But they’re so good and so magical 😀 I also love how you did this post. It’s super unique 😀

    -Amber

    Liked by 1 person

  2. !!!! I don’t know if I should fangirling over your song choices or book choices 🙌 YES PERCY JACKSON! Welcome to the fandom and immerse yourself in the never-ending riordan world! Also Clockwork Princess, it’s been years and it still destroys me! When I get to the death of the bachelor I can’t help but sing it out loud😂 Crush is also a song I will never get tired of. Have you heard A Little Too Not Over You? I’m still not over that song, it always reminds me of my old crush😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AAAHH DAVID ARCHUELTA WHAT YOU DO TO US ❤️ i think i heard a little too not over you, i don’t know…i should try it again soon! and DEATH OF A BACHELOR IS SO SO GOOD IT’S ONE OF MY FAVE SONGS EVER EVER.
      and thank you so much for welcoming me to the fandom! and YES TO CLOCKWORK PRINCESS OMG 😭
      i’m so so glad we have the same tastes not only in books but also in music! that’s so cool ❤️
      thank you so much!✨

      Like

  3. FIRST OF ALL: Let’s talk about Something About the Sunshine. The best song on any Disney soundtrack. I still jam to it nowadays! Starstruck is such a fantastic movie; I’ve watched it so many times I literally feel like I’ve been to Los Angeles already. No joke.
    BUT MOVING ON.
    I’m so happy you enjoyed the Percy Jackson series! It is one of my all-time favorite series and I absolutely adore the characters. I highly recommend you reading the other Rick Riordan books, such as Magnus Chase. They’re about norse mythology, but the characters are also fantastic. Plus, there are so many diverse elements: disability, transgender characters, etc. It is truly amazing!
    As a fan of contemporary, it really is a shame I haven’t read anything by Morgan Matson yet. I promise to give it a try next year!
    Great post, Maha! (By the way, can I use it for my 2016 recap as well? I really love the songs, as you’ve noticed, hahah. I’ll make sure to give you the credits!). I hope you have a great 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. STARSTRUCK IS LIKE THE BEST DISNEY MOVIE EVER. i wish more people knew about it. OH MY GOD I’M JUST… *FANGIRLS TOO HARD*
      and i’m definitely willing to read MAGNUS CHASE. just don’t worry, i’m going to read ALL rick riordan’s books. I HAVE THE WHOLE 2017 TO DO IT.
      also, that’s okay if you haven’t read matson’s books, but i highly recommend you to do so! her novels are quite long for contemporaries (usually contemporaries are 300-400 pages but matson’s are like 450-500 pages), but they’re reaaaaaaally amazing. i hope you’ll like them!
      and WHAT A QUESTION OF COURSE YOU CAN USE THIS IDEA IN YOUR RECAP THAT WOULD BE AMAZING. when you do it, just tell me on twitter or comment in here so i can be notified! and it would be an HONOR for my name to be on your blog (like, seriously) ❤️
      thank you so much! i hope you have a great 2017 too!! *inserts millions of hearts*

      Like

  4. There were so many amazing books this year! I couldn’t just pick ten either, so I came up with a list of 15, which was nearly impossible, too. I love how you used songs to inspire this post! Such a cool idea 😀

    I’m so glad you loved PJO! Those books really introduced me to YA and kind of started my whole YA obsession. Clockwork Princess THOUGH. Ugh, that book. *cries* I reread that series this year and it was like, I don’t remember these books being so emotional?! It’s one of my all time favorites, for sure. And yes, Six of Crows! I could go on about that series for hours on end. I love Leigh Bardugo so much. Wasn’t Winter amazing? 800+ pages of some of my favorite characters kicking butt. That series is the best!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Oh, my god! Starstruck! I remember loving the hell out of that movie. I also had a huge crush on Sterling Knight and I’d make my mum watch it with me all the time. I can’t believe I’d forgotten about it up until now.
    P.S I Like You was just the freaking cutest and every time I think about it, I just want to combust because it was so cute. I also, only just began The Raven Boys this year which I can not believe since Gansey is my soul mate and they’re so addictive and great.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES YES YES!!
      STARSTRUCK is like the most underrated movie EVER. i don’t know why…
      and P.S. I LIKE YOU is so cute YES!!! i couldn’t believe how cute it was!!
      and GANSEY IS MY HEART MY SOUL AND MY EVERYTHING.
      thank youuuu!!!

      Like

  6. Oh, wow, this is quite an impressive list! I have to say, I really struggled with The Raven Boys. But a lot of people have been telling me to push through because the series gets better and I’m pretty much convinced now! I am definitely going to aim to complete it in the new year!

    I absolutely loved Salt to the Sea! It is one of my favourite reads for the year – truly my heart broke into a million tiny pieces after that story. And after I finished her author’s note I was just destroyed! I also enjoyed The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah but again, my emotions ran wild with that book!

    A few others that made its way onto my top ten list for 2016 included A Court of Mist and Fury and Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas; and of course Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo!

    Thanks for sharing this epic list! I look forward to reading some of these titles soon!

    May you have a wonderful new year!

    Nihaad – Read & Seek

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So manhunt of these are my favorite books! I absolutely love everything Rick Riordan! I’m pretty sure everyone’s a fan of The Raven Cycle and Six of Crows (at least, they should be). I absolutely loved Winter and Clockwork Prince, which gave me all the feels! ❤️ I’ve heard good things about A Fierce and Subtle Poison, and I might read it someday! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

