bookish

7 of my most anticipated diverse reads of 2017

diverse-2017-reads

This post is inspired by Jananee at Head In Her Books’ post, which you should definitely check out.

As you may or may not have noticed, the next year looks like one in which I’ll spend more money than I have. And by that, I mean it’s going to be a great year for YA releases. So after reading Jananee’s post, I thought why not talk about all the upcoming YA novels I’m excited about. I hope you’ll add these to your TBR!


We Are Okay, by Nina Lacour

28243032Goodreads // The Book Depository

This is a story about a girl who’s trying to run away from her past but, eventually, has to face it anyway. And even though I didn’t LOVE the author’s other novel, EVERYTHING LEADS TO YOU, this one still caught my attention. It looks so so amazing, and hopefully I’ll like it more than ELTY.

Expected release date: February 14th, 2017

The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas

32075671Goodreads // The Book Depository

Inspired by the events of Black Lives Matters, THE HATE U GIVE deals with problems such as racism and police violence, with a PoC as a main character. And I definitely think YA novels should open up to such problems for the simple reason that they are important for us as teenagers. That’s why THE HATE YOU GIVE is personally one of my most anticipated reads of the next year.

Expected release date: February 28th, 2017

The Ship Beyond Time, by Heidi Heilig

30653880Goodreads // The Book Depository

I read the first book in this series, THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE, and I must admit I really liked it. It features ships (with both meanings), time-travel, and characters from all around the world. I found it really creative. So I’m definitely excited for this sequel. I can’t wait.

Expected release date: February 28th, 2017

Queens of Geek, by Jen Wilde

28245707Goodreads // The Book Depository

A story about two nerds going to SupaCon (a.k.a. BookCon) and finding romance along the way? And the characters are diverse? I’m not even hesitating. I’m in.

Expected release date: March 14th, 2017

Get It Together, Delilah! by Erin Gough

30842388Goodreads // The Book Depository

It’s really rare when you get hold of Australian novels, so when it features diverse characters, I just…*sigh*. This book looks funny, heart-warming, and cute, so definitely adding it to my TBR. I may or may not have died when I got sent a digital ARC for this novel. I can’t wait to read it (and share my thoughts in a review)!

Also, I think this book has already been published in another name (THE FLYWHEEL), so i really don’t know if the author changed dome things from the original story, or if the book is just getting published with a new name and cover?

Expected release date: April 4th, 2017

The Upside of Unrequited, by Becky Albertalli

30653853Goodreads // The Book Depository

I’m so so so excited for this book. It just looks so good, so cute, and so diverse. My hopes are really high, not only because I loved SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA, but also because the blurb caught my attention even before reading the author’s debut novel.

Expected release date: April 11th 2017

How To Make A Wish, by Ashley Herring Blake

26626118Goodreads // The Book Depository

I don’t know how or when, but this book caught my attention. I haven’t read any of the author’s previous novels, but I’m overly excited about this one!

Expected release date: May 2nd, 2017

When Dimple Met Rishi, by Sandhya Menon

28458598Goodreads // The Book Depository

Oh look! A PoC! On the cover! And it! Will! Be! Published! On! My! Birthday!

This is a story about two Indian-American teens whose parents have arranged for them to be married. All I’m going to say is: I’m sold.

Expected release date: May 30th, 2017


What are some of your most anticipated releases of 2017?

21 thoughts on “7 of my most anticipated diverse reads of 2017

  1. I love this post! I’m hardly ever updated to releases so I never know what’s coming up next, hahah, so this post was very informative. I’m very interested about The Hate U Give; it looks like a very brave story to be told! I’m glad that we’re getting more diverse releases for 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooooh, “We Are Okay” sounds interesting! I also didn’t think Everything Leads To You was a fantastic novel. I was highly disappointed. ): And The Hate U Give sounds really good! Totes added like… all of these to my TBR list 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So I nearly shrieked about Get It Together, Delilah! because I hadn’t heard of it…and then I realised I have heard of the Flywheel.😂 But I still need to read that one, hehe. And omg Aussie fiction is so often very diverse WHICH IS WONDERFUL. *flings confetti* And I’m also endlessly excited for The Hate U Give and The Ship From Beyond Time, and omg Becky Albertalli’s new book is amazing. I definitely attest to that!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

