bookish · discussions

why diversity is as important as eating cake (& diverse book recommendation)

DISCLAIMER: The title of this post is not meant to make a joke about diversity. I do know that diversity is a serious topic, I just meant to lighten the current mood of the book community.

diversity

DIVERSITY. The word that echos on every conversation between Young Adult lovers, whether it’s in real life or on social media.

I’ve been hearing these conversations, reading posts and threads about the topic. I’ve been seeing and following sites and blogs entirely dedicated to diversity and representation, and I’ve also been reading diverse books, but I’ve never really talked about my opinion on the topic. And I have finally decided to do so.

So if you:

  • are against diversity,
  • think that it is not important,
  • complain that people wanting diversity are just complaining,
  • or something like that,

Then, first of all, you don’t deserve cake, and you should probably:

  • think again about your opinion
  • stop reading this post
  • or keep reading it (it might change your opinion)
  • unfollow me
  • go away
  • hide in a cave

But let’s get straight to the point: I don’t want diversity in books. I NEED diversity in books. And I REFUSE to keep reading only about white, mentally stable, Christian, and whatever other “default” kind of characters. I didn’t sign up for that. I’m not here for that.

Some people might say: “If you need diverse books, you can just write them yourself”. Well, I’m sorry if not every one has the ability to write and publish a book.

And to all of you saying that we are only complaining: I’m sorry, but has it EVER occurred to you that “non-default” people feel left out? Not represented? Because they certainly feel this way. They hope, every time they open a book, that it will feature someone just like them, so they can understand themselves, or someone different, so they can know more about people differences, as well as their own.

We need diverse books. We need the pages painted with the colors of our differences, our love, our acceptance. We need representation. We need to find ourselves in the books we read, so we can feel loved and accepted.

I just want you to know that I’m here for that. And to prove myself, I’m putting here some diverse books I read, am currently reading, or have been recommended to me:

What are some diverse books you’ve read lately? I’ve recently read SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA, and I’m currently reading EVERYTHING LEADS TO YOU.

P.S: I’m so sorry I’ve been away from blogging for so long. Life happened, and I had a lot of school work, plus I kind of lost interest in writing. I promise I’ll be more active soon.

maha

5 thoughts on “why diversity is as important as eating cake (& diverse book recommendation)

  1. I really, really, really need to read more diverse books. I do enjoy reading when I find one, but they’re a bit harder to find where I live. When they become very popular, like The Wrath and The Dawn or Ari & Dante, it is easier; but if they’re from unknown authors, it is very rare that I’ll pick them up. I believe this is just another reason on why we need to read more and more diverse books – they’ll become more popular and people from various parts of the world will be able to enjoy them as well!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

