bookish

A MONTHLY RECAP: august ’16/september ’16

monthly recaps

august ’16

even though i’m sad august is over (because it means BACK TO SCHOOL), i’m happy with what i’ve done this month. i have traveled a lot (i hope a post about that will be coming soon), and i managed to read some pretty good books.

read this month

  • PRIDE & PREJUDICE, by Jane Austen: i did not expect to love this book as much as i did.  it’s not my favorite novel whatsoever, but it was good. it was kind of slow in the beginning, but it quickly picks up. so i do recommend it, even though you don’t like classics. ★★★★☆
  • QUEEN OF SHADOWS, by Sarah J. Maas: am i the only black sheep here? i DNFed this book. i had so many issues with it. i didn’t like “the new characters”, and it felt like a whole new different series, which i didn’t appreciate. i might come back to it, eventually, with all the hype around EMPIRE OF STORMS these days… ★☆☆☆☆
  • SALT TO THE SEA, by Ruta Sepetys: this book was heart-wrenching. it’s my first World War II themed book, and i LOVED it. it might be a little confusing at the beginning, with all the different POVs, but you will soon get used to it. i highly recommend this book. ★★★★☆
  • THE UNEXPECTED EVERYTHING, by Morgan Matson: i read this book as a “last summer contemporary” of this summer, and it didn’t disappoint. it has become one of my favorite books of all time. Morgan Matson just give you all the feels with her books, and i love it. ★★★★★

on the blog

bookish:

lifestyle:

favorites

halsey

//www.anghami.com/widget/playlist/50491048?80e5e50a2d9405ab70b1074886f93e9a

i’ve been listening to ~some~of halsey’s songs this summer, but when i listened her whole album (+ her song Closer featuring The Chainsmokers), i fell in love. her songs are so good and i can’t stop listening to them (which i am currently doing now). i don’t know if a “playlist” will show on the post, but if there’s only a link, click it to see my favorite songs of her.

september ’16

UGH.

school starts on september 5th, and i don’t know what to do with my life. i’m a little stressed to be honest; new school, new people (even though i will be with my friends), etc. plus i’m not ready for all the work.

how was your month? what have you read? also, when do/did you start school (if you’re still in school)?

maha

10 thoughts on “A MONTHLY RECAP: august ’16/september ’16

  1. Maha, I hope you have a great new school year! I know it may seem hard, but I wish you all the positivity!
    I don’t listen to a lot of American artists nowadays, but Halsey is one that I still admire a lot. I love her voice and I really enjoy her first album. I hope she releases a new one soon!
    And when it comes to the Throne of Glass series, I feel less and less inclined to pick up the series. Although it has a lot of hype around it, I know a lot of people who really dislike it. Because I’m not a huge fan of fantasy, I don’t really see myself loving these books. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    I hope you have a great September!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Halsey is amazing! ❤ I think she's my singer of the year haha! I hope you'll have an amazing school year Maha! August was the month I started college, and while it was fun, I'm feeling pretty exhausted and chaotic, still grappling to get hold of things 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Salt to the Sea is such a heartbreaking and informative book and I’m so glad you enjoyed it as much as I did. (FYI I personally think Ruta’s debut, Between Shades of Gray, is a bit better than Salt to the Sea, so I hope you give that a try sometime.)

    Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous recap! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

