bookish · monthly recaps

A MONTHLY RECAP: july ’16/august ’16 (in which i try to explain why i haven’t blogged in two weeks)

monthly recaps

this month was crazy?! there was a part of the month where everything was going on, i had to visit my family, i read a lot (not that this is a bad thing), and was in a huge mood to write… and there was that part where i wasn’t in the mood to read nor write and was just watching tv all day, which consumed most of my time.

july ’16

as you can see, my reading pace in july was a mix of fast and slow. sometimes i could sit and read half a book in one sitting, and other times i just didn’t have the mood to read at all. in the first week or two, i read three books, but spent the rest of the month reading one book (even though the last book is very huge). not that i was busy, on the contrary, i was busier in the first half of june.

what i read

all book titles are linked to their goodreads page

  • The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2) by Maggie Stiefvater: this book was PHENOMENAL. it’s been a long time since a book has given me such feelings. i was just so into the story, and even though it was my first read of june, i’m still fangirling about it. it was AMAZING. definitely excited to see where the story goes in the next book. ★★★★★
  • The Elite (The Selection #2) by Kiera Cass: a year after reading The Selection -in which all of my friends kept telling me that I HAVE TO FINISH THIS SERIES- i picked up this book, which is the sequel, and i was utterly disappointed. i did not like it, America (the main character) was so annoying, and i wasn’t interested in the book while reading it. at all. i even considered dnf’ing it, but still managed to finish it (mainly because it was short). i WILL read The One though, just to see how the story ends (and because my friends will keep telling me to read it).★★☆☆☆
  • Fairest (The Lunar Chronicles #3.5) by Marissa Meyer: beautiful, heart-breaking, amazing. this story was just 200 pages, but left me aching for more.★★★★★
  • Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer: technically i finished this book on august 1st, but it still took me 3/4 of the month to end it. it was worth it, though. amazing amazing amazing series. i’m so sad to see it end. i don’t think i’ll recover from it anytime soon. ★★★★★

what i posted on the blog

bookish

favorites

we heart it

 to me, aesthetics = we heart it. i’m addicted to aesthetics, therefore i’m addicted to we heart it. i think most people use pinterest boards for that, but i usually use we heart it, because i think it’s amazing.

calligraphy

i already mentioned this one in my last recap, but this time i haven’t only been seeing calligraphy pictures on the internet, i actually tried calligraphy. and i couldn’t be happier about this decision. even though i didn’t really get into it -mainly because i didn’t have time-, it still became an obsession. my sister even let me borrow her brush pen that she uses for studying (she’s studying architecture, so she uses different types of pens and pencils). but i’ll have to give it back on september *distant sob*.

august ’16

13724487_296375210714322_1153176674_n(1)i seriously don’t know how we already got into august. it’s insane. and august means back to school mood everywhere (even though i’m not starting school until september 5th), i’ll have to buy school supplies, and i hate it. BUT i’ll be traveling in the last two weeks of august, so this month won’t be the worst.
ALSO, i’m hosting an august book challenge this month with my friends at OurBookTeam, so feel free to join us anytime (we’d love to, and that’s okay if you’re a little late). i seriously hope i won’t fail this one like all the previous challenges i’ve participated in.

goals of the month

  • get more into calligraphy
  • achieve the august book challenge
  • take pictures when i travel (is this a goal?)
  • read more during the first two weeks of august (since i won’t have time to read after that).

what have you read this month? which one is your favorite? also, when do you start school? i’m really curious.

maha

4 thoughts on “A MONTHLY RECAP: july ’16/august ’16 (in which i try to explain why i haven’t blogged in two weeks)

  1. YES FOR THE DREAM THIEVES! I’m obsessed with that book and is my favorite one in the series! Although I didn’t like Ronan that much in the first book, after this one, I couldn’t stop fangirling over him.
    And when it comes to The Elite, I also don’t like this book that much. There are a few parts here and there that I really enjoyed, but ultimately, I just don’t find it to be very good. The same goes for The One: I dislike the whole piece, but I have to admit there were a few good scenes. Let me know what you think when you read it!
    I hope you have a great August, Maha! (And, also, HAPPY BLOG-ANNIVERSARY! I was going to tweet you, but school has been driving me insane – and it’s only the first week. Anyways, HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! Here’s to many more years!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES OMG I JUST WANT TO READ BLLB RIGHT NOW BUT I ORDERED IT AND I HAVE TO WAIT FOR SHIPPING UGH. and it’s good to know that i’m not the only one who didn’t like The Elite 🙂
      also, thank you so much! and good luck with school! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

