personal

one year of blogging (achievements, thanks & goals)

one year of blogging

today marks my first blogiversary (if you spell it like that). wow. i’ve never imagined i would say this. time flies. the journey of blogging has been beyond amazing so far and i cannot be more thankful for the day i created this blog (well, technically not this one).

it seems like yesterday i’ve been thinking about making a blog, and sharing my thoughts on books like i’ve always wanted to. and now, i’ve been doing it for one year, and i still love it (even though i’ve been a little absent lately i’m so sorry love you all).

the journey of younicorn reads:

cropped-younicorn-reads.png

  • July 31st, 2015: younicorn reads was created.
  • November 2015: i created a twitter account.
  • December 13th, 2015: i reached 100 blog followers (on my old blog).
  • December 26th, 2015: i switched into Blogger (i still don’t know what have been crossing my mind at that time).
  • January 1st, 2016: i created a new Goodreads account, after being inactive on my old one for almost a year (don’t worry, i’m more active on it now).
  • March 6th, 2016: i switched again to WordPress, and somehow it is the best decision i’ve taken. but i had to start from scratch for the second time.
  • May 5th, 2016: my bookstagram was hacked, and i had to start another account.
  • TODAY (July 31st, 2016): (ALMOST) 100 blog followers,  250 instagram followers, 53 tumblr followers, and (ALMOST) 500 twitter followers (!!!!).

many thanks to:

  • my family, for encouraging me to keep going (even though most of you didn’t know i had a blog until later I’M SO SORRY OKAY, I WAS SHY).
  • my real life friends, for the endless conversations about not just books but everything, and for coping with my weirdness.
  • Claudia at PenMarkings, for providing us with amazing blog posts, and for being a wonderful friend that i certainly do not deserve.
  • Cari at addictionbookss (on twitter), for being so sweet and amazing, and for fangirling about aesthetics with me.
  • Xan at twirling pages, for being one of my biggest inspiration, not only for my blog posts but also for my bookstagram pictures and basically EVERYTHING.
  • Alexandra at Literary Legionnaire, for being so kind to me and sharing my discussion posts, and of course for being a wonderful friend.
  • Jill at Book Nerd Reads, your bookstagram pictures are just goals of goals, and you’re so sweet, i can’t wait to know you more.
  • Salma at Sea of Books, for being a real life AND a blogger friend. you basically know everything, thank you thank you thank you.
  • Izel at A Bookish Flower, for basically just being thebomb[dot]com. stop disappearing from the internet please and thank you.
  • Claire at Cover to Cover, for teaching me all the coding stuff and accepting me as a guest blogger because it was the reason we became friends (that typo on my email address is the reason to all of this. a typo is being useful for once).
  • Ava at Bookishness and Tea, for being an inspiration and an amazing friend. i love to talk to you and i can’t wait to know you more.
  • and everyone who has been reading, liking, commenting, and following my posts, so whether you’ve come here for the first time today or a year ago, THANK YOU. i would not have reached this without you. you’re encouraging me every day to keep going and not to give up, and THIS is the best gift i could ask for.

goals for the next twelve months

you’d probably think that i’m a professional blogger for setting goals and stuff like that.

no.

i still don’t schedule posts a week before posting it, i still make a lot of spelling and grammar mistakes in my posts, i’m still not organized. so no, i don’t count myself as a professional blogger. but i’m still going to set goals and pretend that i’m actually going to achieve them, while knowing that i will only achieve one or two out of this list.

so let’s keep pretending, here are my goals for next year:

  • post more of personal posts (more about my country, my travels, etc.).
  • try my best to schedule all the week’s posts on the weekend.
  • write and post more open letters (i only wrote one that’s a shame for me).
  • do not disappear from my blog and come back after like nothing has ever happened (i probably won’t achieve this one. I’M SORRY PEEPS OKAY).

i think that’s it. thank you again so so much for this amazing journey, and i cannot wait to see what the future is holding for me.

maha

21 thoughts on “one year of blogging (achievements, thanks & goals)

  1. OMG MAHA IM SO SORRY FOR DISAPPEARING SO MUCH, but believe me I’ll make an effort to be more around the blogosphere just because YOU said please AND thank you πŸ˜‰ and only for you ❀

    BASICLLY HAPPPPYYYY BLOGOVERSARY OMG I LOVE REACHING MILESTONES (don’t ask me why) AND A BIG ONE LIKE YOUR FIRST YEAR OF BLOGGING IS ALWAYS SO MUCH FUN.

    I love you so much Maha, thank you for being my friend and I’m so happy I could celebrate with you!! I hope we have many more years of fangirling and blogging and asdfghjkl just basically being best friend for the rest of forever ❀❀ LOVE YOU AND HAPPPY BLOGOVERSARY.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

