bookish

REVIEW + DISCUSSION: the raven boys by maggie stiefvater

review + discussion15743650

The Raven Boys, by Maggie Stiefvater
Published by: Scholastic (September 12th 2012
Genre: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 421.
Format: UK Paperback
Source: Purchased

★★★★☆

Blue has spent the majority of her sixteen years being told that if she kisses her true love, he will die. When Blue meets Gansey’s spirit on the corpse road she knows there is only one reason why – either he is her true love or she has killed him.
Determined to find out the truth, Blue becomes involved with the Raven Boys, four boys from the local private school (lead by Gansey) who are on a quest to discover Glendower – a lost ancient Welsh King who is buried somewhere along the Virginia ley line. Whoever finds him will be granted a supernatural favour.
Never before has Blue felt such magic around her. But is Gansey her true love? She can’t imagine a time she would feel like that, and she is adamant not to be the reason for his death. Where will fate lead them?

the raven boys is the kind of books that makes you just want to drop everything and go for an adventure.

giphy

let me start by telling you that the synopsis can be VERY misleading. it is NOT just a love story, there’s more than that. it’s first of all a story of adventure and friendship.

IMG_3159[1]i started this book with very very very high expectations, and thankfully, i was not
disappointed. THE RAVEN BOYS is a novel filled with action and adventure, aka everything i love in a book.

even though the plot was a little slow sometimes (just a little tiny bit), i still loved this book. and i know the middle was a little slow for character development, that’s why it’s not a really big deal for me. because, you know… I LOVE CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT. and let me tell you that this book has a HUGE one. and i’m 99% sure that there’s more in the next books, which i’m freaking excited to read (hopefully this month).

“She wasn’t interested in telling other people’s futures. She was interested in going out and finding her own.”

i can’t say much about my thoughts on the book, because i’m afraid i’m going to spoil you. but overall, i highly recommend you to go pick up THE RAVEN BOYS, because it’s worth the read.


we’re moving to a spoiler-filled discussion, so if you haven’t read the book, do not read this part. no but seriously, go read the book.

am i the only one who wants to collect old cars, look for ley lines, and go to Cabswater after reading this book? no but seriously, I WANT TO GO TO CABSWATER. i want to see all four seasons in one day. IS THAT TOO MUCH TO ASK?!

i also want to meet all the raven boys. Gansey, Ronan, Adam, Noah (i really want to meet a ghost now). ALL OF THEM. they all make me swoon, especially Gansey. every time he talks to Blue i’m just sitting here like: I SHIP YOU. I SHIP YOU. let’s just not talk about the fact that they spent A WHOLE DAY TOGETHER.

one of the -many- other aspects of Gansey’s personality is being funny and sarcastic. let’s just take a moment to appreciate this and swoon over it:

“You are being self-pitying.”
“I’m nearly done. You don’t have much more of this to bear.”
“I like you better this way.”
“Crushed and broken,” Gansey said. “Just the way women like ’em.”


“We have to be back in three hours,” Ronan said. “I just fed Chainsaw but she’ll need it again.”

“This,” Gansey replied “is precisely why I didn’t want to have a baby with you.”

giphy

i admit i expected the fact that the teacher was Noah’s friend, but it’s still my favorite plot twist in the book. because from the moment Gansey and Blue (GANSEY AND BLUE) knew it, i knew things would start to get real. which leads us to the part where the teacher (as you can see i don’t remember his name) attacks Gansey, and Gansey was about to die. that was the most frustrating part for me. HOW DARE YOU MAGGIE STIEFVATER PLAY WITH MY FEELINGS LIKE THAT.

but thankfully, Gansey is not dead *calms down*.

i can keep talking for hours about this book, so let’s just stop here. if i continue, i’ll end up having 20,000 words in this review.


have you read THE RAVEN BOYS? what were your thoughts about it?

maha

15 thoughts on “REVIEW + DISCUSSION: the raven boys by maggie stiefvater

  1. I recently read TRB and I loved it. It’s an amazing book. I loved every single aspect of it, I wasn’t really that surprised by the plot twist, but it was still a nice addition to the book. I also love Blue’s family, I really want a family of psychics now. Great discussion and review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved it! I only have to read TRK but I keep putting it off because I just don’t want this series to end😢 I really like the friendship between the boys and I just want to find my own dead welsh king! I also freaked out about that Gansey bit, like NO NO NO NOT YET. Maggie really knows how to play with our feels xD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I need to reread this series from the beginning. I’ve only read the first book but really enjoyed it! I remember really liking the characters and the slow, languid pace – it was very immersive 🙂 Wonderful review, it makes me want to pick it up once more.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. YES, YES, YES. I’m so happy you also enjoyed The Raven Boys because these books are absolutely adorable. I relate to you so much: I want to live in Henrietta and live these adventures as well. Although I read books with really amazing sceneries, I don’t think of myself in the same position of the characters. With The Raven Boys, I wanted to get inside the book and become best friends with The Raven Boys as well.
    By the way, who do you prefer: Ronan or Adam? I can’t say much; Adam is JUST MY TYPE, but is so hard not to fall in love with Ronan as well, hahah.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I actually just finally read this book this week and I am actually surprised that I liked it. Honeslty, it was nothing like I thought it was going to be and I absolutely LOVED it! I read it for Hype or Like Friday and I think if I hadn’t joined that this month, I never would have gotten around to it! I already have the rest of the books ordered and I’m dying for them to get to me! I need them like YESTERDAY! Reading your review actually cleared something up about the book for me. I wasn’t sure exactly what Cabeswater actually was, so thank you for clearing that up for me! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

