bookish

why it’s totally okay to DNF a popular book

DNF stands for DO NOT FINISH.

we all know the feeling. you’ve been excited for a certain book for so long, and you have heard nothing but super amazing things about it. everyone is claiming it as their favorite book of all time, so you cannot hold your excitement to read it. you go buy the book, and start it. you read twenty pages, fifty pages, a hundred pages.

and you’re not liking it. you can’t get into it. it isn’t what you expected, and you don’t think that it’s good as everybody else does. you’re a little sad, because you want to stop it, to put it down, but you don’t want to be the only one to do so.

we’ve all been there, and we’ll be in that situation a lot of times in the future. and let me tell you: it is totally okay to DNF that book. the fact that a lot of people loved a certain book doesn’t mean you should like it too.

if you keep reading it, you probably will not enjoy it anyway. and you know, that’s completely fine. each and every person in this world has different tastes, so you don’t have to be like everyone else. plus you certainly won’t enjoy every book you read (even though we really wish we could). that’s why the best advice i could tell you is: just stop that book if you’re not enjoying it. why are you forcing yourself to carry on with it?

and hey! you probably didn’t like that book, but you will surely love a whole lot of other ones. that book is just one disappointment out of ten or twenty blows of heart. think about these twenty books you loved instead of the single book you disliked. i KNOW it’s sad when a book is not what you expect, and you’re probably telling yourself what others saw in that novel that you didn’t see, but what can you do? every book is certainly not made for everyone.

this was just a friendly reminder to stay positive *smiles*.

what was the last book you DNFed?

maha

19 thoughts on “why it’s totally okay to DNF a popular book

  1. The last one I didn’t finish was Cloud Atlas. Someone else was reading it at the same time and adored it, and I kept thinking “am I reading it wrong? Should I try again?” but then I realized you know what, it’s okay, why waste time on something I’m not enjoying, when there are so many great books out there!
    Nice post! 💫🙏🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I tried to read, A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray. I had heard a lot of good things about it, the cover was beautiful and the blurb sounded great. But once I started reading it, I really couldn’t get into it. I really didn’t like the writing style or the characters voice. It was just not a good reading experience for me and I gave up reading it after about 30 pages.
    I worried that maybe I was missing the point of the book, but I have so many other books ready and waiting for me to read that I just couldn’t continue with something I wasn’t enjoying.
    It’s great that you posted about this because more people need to feel like its okay not to conform to the popular opinion. Good job 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. i agree, i think it’s a great decision that you just moved on. and we definitely shouldn’t build up an opinion based on others people’s opinions about a certain book. (i don’t know if you understood what i mean?)
      thanks, i’m glad you liked this post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think the Crown’s Game MIGHT be a DNF. I don’t know, since I started reading it, I’ve finished three other books. (I read simultaneously) I do actually feel some guilt over DNFs since I’m a reviewer. I like to write informed reviews of the books I read. However, I’m also with you in thinking, IT’S OKAY. We can do what we need to do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. if you’re not feeling it, i think you should just stop it. i do feel the same because i’m a reviewer too (part time though), but sometimes, it shouldn’t take away the fact that we read to ENJOY reading 😉

      Like

  4. I love this post, and I completely agree with everything you’ve said! It’s totally okay to not finish and / or dislike a book that everybody else loves. Everyone has different opinions, and if you can’t get into the book it doesn’t make sense to continue reading it when there are other books you could pick up that you might end up enjoying more. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The last one were Sleeping Giants and A Bald New World. They are both interesting but I did not get their point. They are more boring than textbooks. Great discussion post, dear! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I don’t know why, but I find it really hard to dnf books! I rarely do that, but even when I do I would come back and try to give it another chance. I just feel bad for the author and curious why everyone is loving this book! I know it’s fine, I’ve been in the black sheep situation so many times XD But it’s just really hard! *sigh* I always push through and ended up disliking it anyway…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. TBARKELLAH SUR TOI!!! I respect what you do and I’m sur if the english and french teacher were here (HERE OOWOOOW HERE….) they would be proud of you ! ❤️🔥💣 BOOM

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

