bookish

unpopular opinions book tag

unpopular opinions

i feel like the unpopular opinions book tag is getting more and more known in the book community and more people do it, so even though i wasn’t tagged by anyone i decided to try it too!

please don’t get offended by any of the following answers. these are my opinions and i can do nothing to change them.

a popular book or series you didn’t like

eleanor & park by rainbow rowell. i found that nothing really happened most of the time, and i found myself really glad after finishing it. i didn’t connect with the characters, but i have to say i liked park, he’s cute.

a popular book or series everyone else seems to hate but you love

i really really loved delirium by lauren oliver, and i can’t see why a lot of people didn’t like it (except the fact that the third one in the series is not as good as the other ones). it’s one of my favorite series of all-time i really love it.

a love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you didn’t want them to end up with

SPOILERS FOR TO ALL THE BOYS I’VE LOVED BEFORE BY JENNY HAN. IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK SKIP TO THE NEXT QUESTION

i actually wanted  lara jean to end up with josh. i know i’m being mean by saying that because he’s margot’s boyfriend but i wanted it anyway. and i knew it was hopeless from the beginning but i kept hoping something will actually happen. oh well, it’s okay…

a popular genre you hardly reach for

i’m not a big fan of contemporary. i find it hard to get into and sometimes cheesy. however i really loved some contemporary books like since you’ve been gone by morgan matson which was amazing and you should really go and read it.

a popular or beloved character you didn’t like

it’s not that i don’t like her, but she annoys me sometimes. i’m talking about clary fray from the mortal instruments. she does some things in the series and i can’t understand why she actually does these things. i don’t know…

a popular author you can’t seem to get into

again it’s rainbow rowell… i didn’t like eleanor & park, and stopped landline after 60 pages. i may get into her books some day, who knows?

a popular book trope you’re tired of seeing

i’m tired of seeing novels about that special girl who stands against a dystopian society. i feel like it’s in every dystopian book it’s crazy! find something else to talk about, there are millions of other subjects to talk about.

a popular series you have no interest in reading

i have NO interest in reading twilight by stephenie meyer. i saw the movies, and i didn’t like them at all, it was so slow and cheesy. so i don’t think i’m going to read the books any time soon.

a movie or tv show adaptation you prefered more than the book

the scorch trials movie was so good and so different from the book and better, especially that i’m not a huge fan of the maze runner series. i really hope the third movie will not be like the book either, because the death cure was a mess, i didn’t like it.

 

i tag:

izel at a bookish flower

claudia at pen markings

the people at fiction and tea

AND everyone who wants to do it

feel free to answer any of these questions in the comments!

13 thoughts on “unpopular opinions book tag

  1. im glad i wasn’t the only one who didn’t like Eleanor and Park that much! I did like Carry On, but haven’t read any of rainbow rowells other books. I love both the maze runner books and movies! Even though they’re nothing alike 😂 I may try this tag soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have read zero Rainbow Rowell because Like you I am not a fan of YA Contemporary (unless it is gritty realistic issue related without romance). However, some people have been saying that I will like Carry On, so I might give it a try some time in the future. I tried to read Twilight when it first came out (way before blogging). My son did chidrens theater and a group of the girls were raving about it, so I picked it up from the library. It has the honor of being the first book I ever ended. Ha ha! I barely made it to chapter three! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YES.

    Okay, so I DID like Eleanor and Park, and Fangirl was pretty okay, but honestly I can’t get into the rest of her books… Carry On bored me after the first chapter (!), and Attachments was just eeehhhhh…

    The dystopian one. YES. Omg honestly there’s so many Character X revolutionalizing the world against Evil Oppressive Government and just cAN WE HAVE SOMETHING ELSE. PLEASE.

    Thank you so much for tagging me, love! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I read Twilight SO long ago but I know I loved it then. (I may not feel the same way now) But the movies are TERRIBLE. I literally laughed in the theater at some of the scenes. They’re so corny xD Also, I totally feel you on the Josh thing. It was hopeless, but I dreamed.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I found Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell extremely excellent, so I hope you’ll give it a go when you’re in the mood to give her a second chance. Like you, I’m not a huge fan of contemporary novels but I found that particular book very relatable and heartwarming!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

